top of page

Blog #7: BBG Chapter 7

In this chapter of the Bedford Book of Genres, the most important topic that stood out to me was the importance of using correct parenthetical citations. Whether a student is told to use MLA or APA, we should check with the teacher to make sure it is correctly cited before handing in our work. MLA format is the most commonly used format to write a research paper as well as to cite in. My school taught me how to use MLA format when I was in middle school and ever since, my citing has become more apparent and advanced. Without the help from my high school teachers, I would not know how to correctly cite today. Yes, I can always use some help if it is needed, but for me, citing has gotten easier as I've grown and being able to use my skills that I learned in high school now says a lot about how we write today. Correctly citing sources is something we may use only until the end of college, and it may be something we use throughout our lives, but once you know how to do it, the easier your life will be if it happens to be something we must write about in the future.


bottom of page